passing of the Constitutional Act of 1791 (31 Geo. III, chap. 31), which established the Province of Upper Canada (Ontario) with a Lieutenant-Governor, a Legislative Council of not fewer than seven, and a Legislative Assembly of not fewer than sixteen members, to be elected by the people. These representatives of the people, however, had little control over the Executive Council, and the result was the struggle for responsible government, i.e., the struggle to make the Executive Council responsible to the representatives of the people for its administration of the affairs of the community. This struggle culminated in the rebellion of 1837, after which Lord Durham's report paved the way for the introduction of responsible government and the union of the Canadas by the Act of Union (3-4 Vict., c. 35). The Legislative Assembly established under this Act consisted of 42 members from each province, increased to 65 from each province The Legislative Council was to consist of at least 20 members, appointed for life. In 1854 permission was granted by the British authorities to change this system, and in 1856 appointments to the Legislative Council were made elective; each province was represented by 24 members, one-fourth of the total number retiring every two years.

Present Constitution.—By sections 69 and 70 of the British North America Act, the legislature of Ontario was established with a single elective chamber having 82 members, the Legislative Assembly. In 1874 the number of members was increased to 88, in 1885 to 90, in 1894 to 94, in 1902 to 98, in 1908 to 102 and in 1914 (4 Geo. V, chap. 4) to 111. It is elected for 4 years on an adult suffrage basis and holds annual sessions, so that 12 months shall not intervene between the last sitting in one session and the first sitting in the next. The powers of the Legislature are defined in sections 92 and 93 of the British North America Act. The Executive Council consists (1922) of eleven members, ten of them holding portfolios as follows: Prime Minister and President of Council; Attorney-General; Secretary and Registrar; Treasurer; Lands and Forests; Agriculture; Public Works and Highways; Education; Labour; Mines.

Besides the regular Departments, certain Commissions have been created for specific purposes. These include the Niagara Falls Park Commission, established in 1885, under an act for the preservation of natural scenery about Niagara Falls (48 Vict., chap. 21); the Railway and Municipal Board, established in 1906 by 6 Edw. VII, chap. 31, and entrusted with control of the construction, operation and maintenance of railways incorporated under Provincial Acts; the Hydro-Electric Power Commission, established in 1906 under an Act to provide for the transmission of electric power to municipalities (6 Edw. VII, chap. 15); the Timiskaming and Northern Ontario Railway Commission, created under the Timiskaming and Northern Ontario Railway Act in 1902, for the construction and operation of a railway from North Bay to a point on Lake Timiskaming, (the line was subsequently extended to Cochrane, to effect a junction with the National Transcontinental Railway).